Aircraft Sense and Avoid

Organization: MIT Lincoln Laboratory
Co-Developer(s): Sean Duffy, Principal Developer, Patrick Bell, Glenn Bringham, Thomas Ferguson, David Goldfein, Jeffrey Herd, Kevin Newman, Michael Owen, David Bragdon, Rodney Cole, Matthew Edwards, Edward Martin, Daniel Santiago, Sean Tobin
Year: 2014

2014 R&D 100 Winner MIT Lincoln Laboratory’s Airborne Sense and Avoid (ABSAA) Radar Panel is a stepped-notch antenna array that marks a substantial advance in the fabrication of wide-bandwidth radar systems for use aboard unmanned aerial systems (UAS).

The panel provides high performance by incorporating multifunction radio-frequency integrated circuits using a commercially available, high-volume silicon germanium (SiGe) 0.13-?m foundry process. Eliminating the separate cooling assembly and integrating the transmit/receive module into the surface-mounted assembly leads to improved reliability and simpler assembly. The panel also meets the constrained size, weight and power requirements for small platforms.

Designed especially for sense-and-avoid systems for unmanned aircraft, the panel supports both aircraft and weather detection and tracking modes in a single multifunction aperture. Smaller and less costly than competing systems, ABSAA’s successful design has the potential to facilitate the adoption of UAS in a broad range of applications, such as security and disaster response efforts, communications, aerial mapping projects and land and crop surveys.

Technology Airborne sense-and-avoid technology

DevelopersMIT Lincoln Laboratory

Development Team

MIT Lincoln Laboratory's Airborne Sense and Avoid (ABSAA) Radar Panel development team. Front row (l-r): Thomas Ferguson and Sean Duffy. Middle row (l-r): David Goldfein, Michael Owen and Kevin Newman. Back row (l-r): Patrick Bell, Glenn Brigham and Jeffrey Herd.



















The Airborne Sense and Avoid (ABSAA) Radar Panel Development Team from MIT Lincoln Laboratory Sean Duffy, Principal DeveloperPatrick BellDavid BragdonGlenn BringhamRodney ColeMatthew EdwardsThomas FergusonDavid GoldfeinJeffrey HerdEdward MartinKevin NewmanMichael OwenDaniel SantiagoSean Tobin