Gold Standard for Laparoscopic Surgery

Organization: neoSurgical
Co-Developer(s): Ronan Keating, Principal Developer, Barry Russell, Principal Developer, Orla Brennan, Diarmuid Conroy, Anne-Marie Gannon, Gerard Rabbitte, Emily Ryan
Year: 2014

2014 R&D 100 Winner Laparoscopic Surgery was introduced with a goal to reduce morbidities associated with open surgical techniques. Twenty years later, although it has brought much better outcomes across a number of indicators, it still has some significant patient morbidities and mortality risks associated with it. Port site hernia is one such example. No ubiquitous global device-based standard of care developed has been accepted to deal with this issue.

neoSurgical’s neoClose brings a simple, accurate technology/device-based solution that can be deployed in less than 30 sec. neoClose facilitates a new method type of port site closure referred to as Vector X Closure, which is facilitated by the delivery of two absorbable AutoAnchors, via the AnchorGuide, through the abdominal wall.

The AutoAnchors are comprised of a PLGA Anchor and PGA suture and are created by securing the suture to the anchor via a proprietary process that ensures attachment. After the AutoAnchors have been deployed and the incision site is closed, the AutoAnchors maintain tension at the port site during the critical healing period of two weeks. At 14 days, the AutoAnchors maintain 50% of their initial strength. The product is fully absorbed in approximately 12 months. The bioabsorbable polymers degrade via a process called hydrolysis.

Technology Laparoscopic surgical device


Development Team

 [[{"fid":"160951","view_mode":"default","fields":{"field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":"","field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":""},"type":"media","link_text":null,"attributes":{"height":267,"width":400,"class":"media-element file-default"}}]]
neoSurgical's neoClose development team (l-r): Ronan Keating, Gerard Rabbitte, Diarmuid Conroy, Barry Russell, Emily Ryan, Orla Brennan and Anne-Marie Gannon.












The neoClose Development Team from neoSurgical Ronan Keating, Principal DeveloperBarry Russell, Principal DeveloperOrla BrennanDiarmuid ConroyAnne-Marie GannonGerard RabbitteEmily Ryan